Drugstore Hit or Miss

Everyone loves a good drugstore makeup buy. They’re cheap, which means you can experiment with lots of fun things and they’re easily accessible so you can pick up new makeup while you’re out running errands.

There are plenty of products out there that totally deserve their moment on your beauty shelf and let’s face it, a couple that just don’t work out.

Today I am exploring my drawer full of drugstore brands and bringing you my top five products as well as a couple I could live without.

First on my list of amazing drugstore must haves is L’Oréal’s infallible eye liner in black. First of all, I love that this is mechanical pencil that requires no sharpening. This liner goes on smooth and rich and stays put all day with zero smudging or fading. This eyeliner comes in under $10 and is my number 1 drugstore pick.

Next on my list are these Super Stay Matte Ink liquid lipsticks by Maybelline. I own this in an assortment of colors! This formula is amazing! It stays put all day long through eating and drinking and does not dry out your lips.The colors are always rich and highly pigmented. I am currently obsessing over the un-nudes collection and their eye catching purples! These average about $10.

Along the same lines as the Maybelline Super Stay Matte Ink is the Super Stay Eraser. Do not forget to pick this baby up with your Super Stay Matte Ink. This eraser removes all traces of lip ink quickly and effortlessly. Its great for removing any lip product, not just Maybelline products. No scrubbing required. You can buy this for $8.

Another amazing drugstore find is this Kiss Wing It eyeliner set. It comes with an amazing gel liner and brush that glides on smoothly leaving a deep silky color that lasts forever. But the thing that makes this product my MVP is the stencil that comes with it! I know, it may sound silly, but if you’re anything like me and find winging your liner to be nearly impossible this stencil will be a life savor! It’s super easy to use and comes with 6 different looks for you to chose from. This product will not disappoint and comes in at about $5.

My final spot is going to go to these brushes by Wet n Wild. I don’t remember the exact price on each individual brush but I know they ranged from $1-$5. These brushes are outstanding! I was pleasantly surprised by how soft these brushes are. They are easy to use and blend makeup beautifully. I’ve been using them now for a couple of months and they have held up nicely. They have become my go to brushes even though I have lots of brushes to choose from. These are steal!!

Now for some major misses.

First up the NYX cosmetics Pore Filler Primer. This product was a total bust for me. The texture was awful and I found it impossible to blend. It sort of sat on top of my skin and flaked off. As you can imagine my makeup did not blend nicely over this primer. This was $15 at my local CVS.

Another disappointing product for me was the Master Camo Color Correcting Pens by Maybelline. These pens come in 6 shades. Pink, purple, green, yellow, apricot and red. Each one promises to correct a different issue from sallowness to dark circles. I only purchased the purple one with hopes of evening out my under eye area. I was feeling like my eyes were looking sunken in. This product did nothing for me. It was messy and difficult to use. It left my under eye looking cakey and crazy. I was also not impressed with the selection of these. They have a lot of choices for light and fair skin tones and only a few for medium or dark. These retail for $10.

So there you have it! Please remember opinions on this blog post are completely my own and you may or may not agree.

Have a favorite drugstore beauty product? Leave a comment on this post!

Leave a comment